Friday, January 22, 2016

Taiwan province was brought under ROC rule in 1945, and the central government moved to Taipei in 1949. The ROC was founded in 1912 by Dr. Sun. CKS did not found a country named Taiwan. Till today, the renmants of the ROC which includes offshore islands from Fujian province which have been ROC since 1912 and Taiwan province minus Diaoyutai islands make up current ROC citizens.

Therefore, portions from Fujian and most of Taiwan come together to form the current ROC which has continued since 1912.

The massacre and martial law occurred only after an armed uprising in 1947. Martial Law stayed in place for that long to make sure the CCP did not infiltrate Taiwan, but that didn't make things any easier for people in Taiwan or Jinmen, Fujian which had a longer martial law period due to its proximity to the mainland part of Fujian.

The ROC is more commonly known as Taiwan including the islands off the coast even though they are not a part of Taiwan province.

The ROC also had elections in 47 and 48 and were subsequently suspended in Taiwan after 49. So the elections in Taiwan in the 90's were not the first.
Maria Helena Taiwan, the Republic of China, also known as "Formosa" in portuguese "Beautiful Island" . The Republic of China ROC was established in mainland China in 1912. After Japan's surrender in 1945, the ROC gained control of Taiwan. During the Chinese Civil War, the Communist Party of China took full control of mainland China and founded the People's Republic of China PRC in 1949. The ROC fled and relocated its government to Taiwan, and its jurisdiction became limited to Taiwan and its surrounding islands. The ROC continued to represent China at the United Nations until 1971, when the PRC assumed China's seat via Resolution 2758 and the ROC lost its UN membership. The ROC still lays claim to the sovereignty over all of "China", in a definition that includes mainland China and Outer Mongolia based on its pre-1949 territories.